OUT and ALLY List

The OUT and ALLY list is a resource jointly provided by the Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Global Health and the Gay Straight Campus Alliance (GaSCA) to promote visibility, awareness, mentoring, and networking opportunities for the TTUHSC El Paso campus community. By agreeing to be part of the OUT and ALLY list, you are helping to promote LGBT awareness and visibility on campus and agree to be contacted as an informal resource for LGBT individuals.

If you are interested in joining the TTUHSC El Paso OUT and ALLY list, please click on the link below. The information collected from this form will be publicized on elpaso.ttuhsc.edu.
https://elpasottuhsc.co1.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_0p7OiN5hIuKdQqx

If you have any questions, please contact the Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Global Health by phone at 915-215-4805 or by email at diversityinclusionglobahealth@ttuhsc.edu.

Lizabeth Berkeley portrait picture

Lizabeth Berkeley

Faculty
Instructor

Ally

"I am an instructor in the Nursing School, and I also run the Baby Cafe. I both teach public health to nursing students and help women with breastfeeding issues. I am interested in being sure all faculty, staff, students and patients have a safe environment to work in and to seek health care."

Lizabeth.Berkeley@ttuhsc.edu

Liliana Bonilla portrait picture

Liliana Bonilla

Student
PLFSOM 2021

Ally

liliana.bonilla@ttuhsc.edu

Jessica Calderon portrait picture

Jessica Calderon-Mora

Sr. Director
Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Global Health

Ally

"I am a proud ally and advocate for the LGBTQ population both at work and at home.  I want to ensure that our campus and the El Paso community as a whole are welcoming and inclusive of LGBTQ individuals.  I want my children to grow up in an environment that is not tolerant, but accepting, of all types of gender identities and sexual orientations.  It is my hope that through the activities our office sponsors, we will help to create and foster such an environment."

jessica.calderon-mora@ttuhsc.edu

place holder picture

Jazmin Carrera

Staff
Unit Manager
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Ally

jazmin.carrera-blas@ttuhsc.edu

place holder picture

Anna Cawley

Student
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences 2018

cawley.ae@gmail.com

Brinda Chellappan portrait picture

Brinda Chellappan

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2021

Ally

Brinda.chellappan@ttuhsc.edu

Rachel Cline portrait picture

Rachel Cline

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2018

Ally

"I am a third year student in the SOM. Though I do not identify as LGBT, I have many close friends, and family members, who do identify as such. I wish to be available to support the OUT/ ALLY groups however possible, and ensure that PLFSOM is a positive learning environment for every student."

rachel.cline@ttuhsc.edu

TTUHSCEP image placeholder

Andrew Contreras

Staff
Manager
Library

Out rainbow flag icon

andrew.contreras@ttuhsc.edu

TTUHSCEP image placeholder

Arturo Corrales

Faculty
Assistant Professor
Psychiatry

Ally

arturo.corrales@ttuhsc.edu

Travis Cosban portrait picture

Travis Cosban

Alumni
Physician (MD)
Emergency Medicine

Out rainbow flag icon

"Dr. Cosban was a member of the forty students in the inaugural class of PLFSOM. After graduating in 2009, he went on to complete residency at The University of Chicago in Emergency Medicine where he worked at multiple hospitals including a large trauma center. In addition to his work in the emergency room, Dr. Cosban also has experience in aeromedical transport including flight and helicopter medicine for both local and international patient transport. He is currently an attending physician at the Las Palmas del Sol Medical center after moving back to El Paso from Chicago. While in Chicago, he served on his residency's admissions panel which included reading through medical student residency applications and completing student interviews. He is happy to help support GaSCA in any way possible as well as the group's students."

tcosban@gmail.com

TTUHSCEP image placeholder

Diego De la Mora

Faculty
Assistant Professor
Internal Medicine

Diego.De-la-Mora@ttuhsc.edu

Patricia De La Riva portrait picture

Patricia De La Riva

Staff
Senior Guard
Police Department

Out rainbow flag icon

"I am proudly out and identify as lesbian for over 10 years. I would like to let students, staff and faculty know that our police department is here to promote the safety and well being of everyone equally and if there is anything we can assist with we are definitely here to help."

patricia.de@ttuhsc.edu

Ailinh Do portrait picture

Ailinh Do

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2019

Ally

ailinh.do@ttuhsc.edu

Anthony Do portrait picture

Anthony Do

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2021

Ally

anthony.do@ttuhsc.edu

TTUHSCEP image placeholder

Jenson Erapurame

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2019

Ally

jenson.erapuram@ttuhsc.edu

TTUHSCEP image placeholder

Eric Estrada

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2017

eric.estrada@ttuhsc.edu

TTUHSCEP image placeholder

Yvette Farran

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2018

Ally

Yvette.farran@ttuhsc.edu

Ricardo Gamez portrait picture

Ricardo Gamez

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2019

Ally

"I am a cis straight male and ally to the community. I have completed the TTUHSC EP Safe Zone Training."

ricardo.gamez@ttuhsc.edu 

TTUHSCEP image placeholder

Thomas Gest

Faculty professor
Medical education

Ally

"One of my daughters and my son are gay, and through them I have come to know the prejudices that people struggle against.  I offer my support to individuals facing these prejudices."

thomas.gest@ttuhsc.edu

TTUHSCEP image placeholder

Julie Gest

Staff
Nurse Residency Program Coordinator
UMC

Ally

"I have been a nurse for thirty years. I have a Master's Degree in Education, I am a Registered Nurse, and am currently working on my PhD. While I have always been an advocate for LGBT (long before that acronym was used), nothing prepared me for the day that my oldest daughter told me that she was a lesbian. I was so surprised by how upset I was, then realized that it had nothing to do with the fact that I wasn't getting a son-in-law, but that I thought I would not have grandchildren. I still don't have grandkids, but think eventually, somehow, they will come along.

My interest is helping with awareness, the medical/nursing community still has a long way to go before we are where we should be. I am easy to talk with and have a variety of life experiences. I am willing to help on a person to person basis, teaching, or at an LGBT function.

However I can help..."

JGest@umcelpaso.org

Thomas Gest portrait picture

Thomas Gest

Faculty
Professor

Ally

"One of my daughters and my son are gay, and through them I have come to know the prejudices that people struggle against. I offer my support to individuals facing these prejudices."

thomas.gest@ttuhsc.edu

place holder

Tiffany Guerra

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2021

Ally

"I have always considered myself an Ally and have a passion for promoting LGBTQ inclusion. I interned with the San Antonio AIDS Foundation and am considering choosing a specialty in Infectious Disease."

tguerra10@gmail.com

Fatima Gutierrez portrait picture

Fatima Gutierrez

Faculty
Assistant Professor Pediatrics
Pediatrics

Ally

"Dr Fatima Gutierrez is a Pediatric Hospitalist at El Paso Children's Hospital. She is involved with Save Zone Training and believes that all patients needed to be treated equally and with respect."

fatima.gutierrez@ttuhsc.edu

Lisa Hartman portrait picture

Lisa Hartman

Faculty
Assistant Professor Pediatrics
Pediatrics

Ally

lisa.hartman@ttuhsc.edu

Justin Hartmann portrait picture

Justin Hartmann

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2019

Ally

justin.hartmann@ttuhsc.edu

TTUHSCEP image placeholder

Vanessa Hernandez

Student

Ally

vanessa96.hernandez@ttuhsc.edu

Guillermo Jimenez portrait picture

Guillermo Jimenez

Medical Student
Student Affairs
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2019

Ally

"I am the son of two Salvadorean immigrant doctors. I was born in New York but El Paso has been my home for over twenty years. Living here has taught me much about awareness in more than just a cultural aspect."

guillermo.jimenez@ttuhsc.edu

Cali Kirkham portrait picture

Cali Kirkham

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2020

Ally

cali.kirkham@ttuhsc.edu

Shaked Laks portrait picture

Shaked Laks, M.D.

Associate Professor
Department of Radiology

Ally

"I have been involved with GaSCA as a faculty member and representative since its inception in 2014. I also help conduct Safe Zone trainings for faculty, residents and nurses at TTUHSC El Paso and several other clinics in our community. I believe that increasing the visibility of LGBT-related issues on our campus is crucial to making our academic center truly inclusive and improving the well-being of our patients, students, trainees, and faculty. I am happy to help and support in any way I can."

shaked.laks@ttuhsc.edu

Angie Macias portrait picture

Angie Macias

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2019

Ally

"I believe that everyone is created equal and we all have the right to equal treatment. It would be my pleasure to become an LGBT ally."

angie.macias@ttuhsc.edu

Alfredo Maldonado portrait picture

Alfredo Maldonado

Faculty
Attending physician
Pediatric Emergency Medicine

Ally

"I was born and raised here in El Paso, TX. I did all of my undergrad, med school and training on the east coast and am very happy to be back here in El Paso. Having studied in more diverse areas than El Paso, I have become aware of the hurdles and injustices that our LGBTQ community faces and am willing to help in any way possible."

alfredo.maldonado@ttuhsc.edu

Brittany Montgomery portrait picture

Stacy Mathews

Ally
Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2020

Ally

stacy.mathews@ttuhsc.edu

Brittany Montgomery portrait picture

Brittany Montgomery

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2019

Ally

brittany.montgomery@ttuhsc.edu

Mayra Morales portrait pircutre

Mayra Morales

Staff
Associate Director
ODIGH

Ally

"LGBT people are our mothers, fathers, sons, daughters, sisters, brothers, aunts, uncles and cousins. We have the opportunity to be an ally everywhere we go and use our powerful voice in this LGBT movement. As an ally I have the ability to help people in their coming-out process as well as help others understand the importance of equality, acceptance and mutual respect. Love always wins!"

Mayra.morales@ttuhsc.edu

Luis Neve portrait picture

Luis Neve

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2018

Ally

luis.neve@ttuhsc.edu

Stacy Nguy portrait picture

Stacy Nguy

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2018

Ally

stacy.nguy@ttuhsc.edu

Patrick O'Malley portrait picture

Patrick O'Malley

Alumni
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2017

Ally

Patrick.omalley@ttuhsc.edu

Brittney Olivarez portrait picture

Brittney Olivarez

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2020

Out rainbow flag icon

"I am a queer cis-female, my partner and I have been together for 9 years and we both attend PLFSOM. I have always been active in the LGBTQ community and welcome anyone to speak to me if they have questions or just need a safe space to express themselves."

ailyn.olivarez@ttuhsc.edu

Mona Ortega portrait picture

Mona Ortega

Staff
Unit Manager
Pathology

Out rainbow flag icon

romona.ortega@ttuhsc.edu

Alex Palmer portrait picture

Alex Palmer

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2019

Ally

alex.palmer@ttuhsc.edu

Michelle Ponce Grajeda portrait picture

Michelle Ponce Grajeda

Staff
Analyst II
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Ally

"I am an ALLY!"

michele.y.grajeda@ttuhsc.edu

Hugo Quezada portrait picture

Hugo Quezada

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2020

Out rainbow flag icon

hugo.quezada@ttuhsc.edu

Yvette Quintana-Chavez  portrait picture

Yvette Quintana-Chavez

Staff
Associate Managing Director
Institutional Compliance Office

Ally

Yvette.quintanachavez@ttuhsc.edu

Yvette Quintana-Chavez  portrait picture

Cynthia Reyes

Staff
Coordinator
Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Global Health

Ally

"I believe all human beings are born free & equal in dignity and rights. I am all for love and love for all."

cynthia.reyes@ttuhsc.edu

Yvette Quintana-Chavez  portrait picture

Cecy Rodriguez

Staff
Section Coordinator
OIRE

Ally

"My desire is for all to love and accept each other for who we are as individuals.  Regardless of race, sex, nationality, religion beliefs or views.  I support the GaSCA & The OUT/ ALLY groups.  Makes me feel safe that I am in a great working/learning environment with TTUHS El Paso/PLFSOM with all that make this such a great university.  ...When the Power of Love Overcomes the Love of Power, the World Will know Peace...-Jimi Hendrix."

cecilia.rodriguez@ttuhsc.edu 

Maggie Scribner portrait picture

Maggie Scribner

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2020

Out rainbow flag icon

maggie.scribner@ttuhsc.edu

Wendy Walker portrait picture

Wendy Walker

Faculty
Assistant Professor
Biomedical Sciences

Ally

wendy.walker@ttuhsc.edu

William Webster portrait picture

William Webster

Staff
Office of General Counsel

Out rainbow flag icon

William.webster@ttuhsc.edu

William Wise portrait picture

William Wise

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2021

Out rainbow flag icon

william.wise@ttuhsc.edu

Mingtao Zeng portrait picture

Mingtao Zeng

Faculty
Professor
Biomedical Sciences

Ally

mt.zeng@ttuhsc.edu

Erika Zerda Oliver portrait picture

Erika Zerda Oliver

Student
Paul L. Foster School of Medicine - Class 2019

Out rainbow flag icon

erika.n.zerda@ttuhsc.edu