Student Financial Information

Academic Year 2016-2017

Tuition and Fees

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso (TTUHSC El Paso) reserves the right, without notice in this or any other publication, to change, amend, add to, or otherwise alter any or all fees, dues, rates, or other charges set forth herein and subject to action by the Texas State Legislature, the Board of Regents of the Texas Tech University System, or other authority as the case may be.

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso reserves the right to deny credit for course work completed in a semester or term and/or registration in a future semester or term for unpaid balances. This also includes the release of official academic transcripts.

TTUHSC El Paso accepts no responsibility for billings or refund checks sent to incorrect addresses or difficulties caused by the postal service or other delivery services.

It is the student’s responsibility to ensure that payment is in the possession of the Student Business Services Office by the established due dates announced each semester.
Payment Information

State law requires TTUHSC El Paso to inform you of the portion of your tuition that is set aside to fund financial assistance programs for qualifying students. The amount is the line item that begins 'Designated Tuition SA' for set aside. 

Payment Policy

Failure to make payment by the established due dates may result in cancellation of registration. Students who choose the payment option or who incur incidental fees during the semester must make full payment by the established due dates or be prohibited from registering for future terms until full payment is made. A student who is not 100 percent paid prior to the end of the term may be denied credit for course work completed that semester or term.

All students are required to complete a Student Payment Agreement prior to enrolling for classes at TTUHSC El Paso. See HSC OP 77.10. Failure to complete this form may result in the cancellation of registration.

Tuition and Fee Payment

Payment must be made prior to the first class day. Payment must reach the TTUHSC El Paso Student Business Services Office by close of business on the due date. Cancellation for non-payment will occur after close of business on the established cancellation date.

Tuition and fees may be paid using one of the following options:

  • Option 1: Payment of the total amount due (cash, check, credit card, 100% financial aid)
  • Option 2: Payment option plan (not available for all summer terms)
  • Option 3: Short-term emergency loan (tuition and fees only)

Payment Option Plan (Option 2)

Texas State Law (Texas Education Code, Section 54.007a) allows students to pay tuition, fees, housing, and dining in installments over the course of the semester.

A $25 billing fee is assessed to all students electing to pay by the installment payment plan. The $25 billing fee must accompany the first installment due for tuition and fees. Subsequent installments must be made in accordance with the due dates established for the particular semester and school of enrollment. Payment option plans are not available for all summer terms. Payment Information

Students may take actions which increase their account balance due, including, but not limited to: course add/drop (including additional course fees), campus vehicle registration, yearbook purchase, and other miscellaneous activities. Students must pay any increased amount due within two (2) business days to maintain an account in good standing. Please check account information via the WebRaider Portal to ensure compliance with the terms of the agreement.

Short-Term Emergency Loan (Option 3)

Students may request a Short-Term Emergency Loan for 100 percent payment of tuition and fees. Students should contact the TTUHSC El Paso Financial Aid Office at 915-215-4923 for additional information regarding application and loan requirements regarding short term loan applications.

Billings

Billings will be emailed to all preregistered students approximately two weeks prior to the due date. Students registering after preregistration or those making changes to their billing after the initial billing has been emailed need to check their balances online via the WebRaider Portal. All billing notifications will be delivered via the TTUHSC El Paso assigned email address.

General Payment Information

Payment can be made as follows:

  • In Person - Students may pay in cash at the Office of Student Business Services or by personal check, cashier's check, money order, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover Card. Checks should be made payable to Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso. All payments made other than cash are subject to final acceptance for payment.
  • Mail - Cash should not be sent through the mail, and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso accepts no responsibility for cash sent by mail. Payments should be mailed to Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso, Student Business Services, 5001 El Paso Drive, El Paso, Texas 79905. Payments should be mailed far enough in advance to reach Student Business Services by the due date.
  • Web Credit Card or E-Check Payments - Pay online via WebRaider Portal. (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Card, or eCheck).

Account Information
Tuition and fee information can be obtained online at the following: HSC MyTech El Paso. The student's eRaider user ID and password is required to view this information.

Late Payment Fee
A $50 per due date fee will be charged the first working day after the university-established due date. Postmarks will not be considered in assessing this charge.

Late Registration Fee
A $50 fee will be charged to registrations after classes have begun. This includes re-registration and re-enrollment in the event of cancellation.

Returned Check Charge
A $30 charge will be assessed for each check returned from the bank unpaid. A returned check for initial payment of tuition and fees may result in cancellation of enrollment. Responsibility rests with the student regardless of the maker of the check.

Reinstatement Fee
A $200 fee will be charged for registering, re-registering, or re-enrolling after the 20th class day (15th class day in summer). The amount of the reinstatement fee is subject to change by action of the Board of Regents without prior notice.

Refund Policy

Refund credits for financial aid and other credits are processed at least twice a week as permitted by federal regulations.

Students may elect to receive refunds via direct deposit: log onto the WebRaider Portal, select HSC MyTech El Paso tab, scroll down to Manage My Finances, expand Student Business Services and select My Direct Deposit.

It is the student's responsibility to maintain a current mailing address in the student information system.

Refund Policies for Tuition and Fees
Texas Education Code, Section 54.006, provides the amount of tuition and fees to be refunded to students who drop courses or withdraw from the institution. Class day count is based on the official institution calendar for the school, not the specific course dates.

Students who drop a course, but remain enrolled at the institution will be refunded at the following rate:

Term

Class Day

Percent of Refund of Charges

Summer - More than 5 weeks but less than 10 weeks in duration

1st class day through 4th class day

100%

 

After the 4th day of class

None

Fall, Spring or Summer - Duration of 10 weeks or longer

1st class day through 12th class day

100%

 

After the 12th day of class

None

Students who withdraw from the institution (zero semester credit hours) are required to pay tuition and fees according to the following schedule based on their official withdrawal date as follows:

Term

Class Day

Percent of Refund of Charges

Summer - More than 5 weeks but less than 10 weeks in duration

Before the 1st class day

100%

 

1st, 2nd, or 3rd class day

80%

 

4th, 5th, or 6th class day

50%

 

7th class day or later

None

Fall, Spring or Summer - duration of 10 weeks or longer

Before the 1st class day

100%

 

1st five class days

80%

 

2nd five class days

70%

 

3rd five class days

50%

 

4th five class days

25%

 

21st class day and after

None

Any refund due to a student will be refunded after calculation of the amount of tuition and fees due at the time of withdrawal. If the student has paid less than the amount due at the time of withdrawal, the student will be required to pay the percentage due.

Title IV Return of Aid

Students who withdraw from TTUHSC El Paso or drop all courses during a term that receive(d) financial aid:
It is important for students who receive financial aid and withdraw or drop all courses during the term to be aware of the refund policies and to understand the impact they will have on the aid released and the continued financial aid eligibility. Current refund policies for students who withdraw or drop all courses during a term are determined by the Higher Education Title IV refund regulations.

Federal refund and repayment calculations must be performed for students who receive Title IV (Pell, FSEOG, Perkins and/or Stafford Loans) funds and officially withdraw from all courses, drop out of all courses, are expelled, take an unapproved leave of absence, or fail to return from an approved leave of absence prior to the 60% date of the term. All unearned aid must be returned to the federal aid programs as determined by the Federal Refund and Repayment calculations.

  • The requirements for Title IV program funds are separate from the university refund policy. As such, you are responsible for unpaid institutional charges remaining after the refund calculation. You are also responsible for charges/balances created by the returning of Title IV program funds that the school was required to return.
  • If you have questions about your Title IV program funds, you can call the Federal Student Aid Information Center at 1-800-4-FEDAID (1-800-433-3243). TTY users may call 1-800-730-8913. Information is also available on student aid at www.studentaid.ed.gov. In order to keep all the financial aid issued in each term, students must be enrolled for at least 60% of the term. After this point in the term, students have earned 100% of the Title IV funds released for the term. Therefore, it is in your best interest to maintain attendance and complete at least one class each term that you receive federal aid to avoid repayment of funds.

How the return of Title IV calculation works:

  1. Number of days attended ÷ Days in semester = % of semester completed
  2. Total $ disbursed X % completed = Earned $
  3. Total $ disbursed - Earned $ = $ to be returned

Once it is determined that you owe money back to any of the federal aid programs, you will be
ineligible to receive further federal aid at TTUHSC El Paso or any other institution until this debt is cleared.

Tuition for Academic year 2016 – 2017

Paul L. Foster School of Medicine (PLFSOM)

  • Texas Legal Residents: $15,016 annual rate ($6,550 state, $8,466 institutional)
  • Nonresidents: $28,116 annual rate ($19,650 state, $8,466 institutional)
  • Nonresident Students Who Are Legal Residents of New Mexico or Oklahoma and Reside in a County Adjacent to Texas: $15,016 annual rate ($6,550 state, $8,466 institutional)

Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing (GGHSON)

  • Texas Legal Residents: $190 per semester credit hour ($50 state, $140 institutional)
  • Nonresidents: $598 per semester credit hour ($458 state, $140 institutional)
  • Nonresident Students Who Are Legal Residents of New Mexico or Oklahoma and Reside in a County Adjacent to Texas: $190 per semester credit hour ($50 state, $140 institutional)

Students classified as non-resident of Texas who also reside outside of the State of Texas, may be assessed fees at a rate structure not listed on this site.

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSBS)

  • Texas Legal Residents: $142 per semester credit hour ( $50 state, $92 institutional)
  • Nonresidents: $550 per semester credit hour ($458 state, $92 institutional)
  • Nonresident Students Who Are Legal Residents of New Mexico or Oklahoma and Reside in a County Adjacent to Texas: $142 per semester credit hour ($50 state, $92 institutional)

General Fees

All fees are mandatory and authorized by state statute or the Board of Regents of the Texas Tech University System.

Academic Fees

  • Laboratory Fee: Not less than $2, but not more than $30 for each applicable course for GSBS and GGHSON; $32 annual rate for PLFSOM 1st and 2nd year students.
  • Information Technology Fee: $10 per semester credit hour for GSBS and GGHSON; $240 annual rate for PLFSOM.
  • Academic Department Instructional Assessment Fee: To be assessed at a flat rate per student not to exceed $300 per academic term.
  • Special Course Fee: Varies; based on costs to provide instruction.
  • Auditing Fee: Students enrolled for fewer than 12 semester credit hours in a semester (6 hours in summer) must pay a $10 fee for the privilege of auditing a course. Written permission from the dean of the college in which the course is being taught and from the course instructor is required. No charge is assessed for enrollment of 12 or more semester credit hours.
  • Microscope and Education Materials Fee: $100 annual rate for PLFSOM 1st and 2nd year students.
  • NBME Testing Program Support Fee: $250 annual rate for PLFSOM 1st, 2nd and 3rd year students.
  • Clinical Simulation Center Fee: $150 per applicable course for GGHSON; $800 annual rate for PLFSOM.
  • Progressions Fee: $40 per applicable course for GGHSON.
  • Standardized Patient Fee: $150 per applicable course for GGHSON.
  • Validation Fee: $100 for GGHSON (charged on all graduate assessment courses).
  • Screening and Immunization Fee: $50 each fall semester for all schools.
  • Library Fines: Varies.
  • Standardized Testing Fee: Not less than $19, but not more than $35 per applicable course.
  • Electronic Textbook Platform Fee: $400 annual rate for PLFSOM.

Student-Related Fees

  • Student Services Fee: $132 per semester if enrolled in seven or more credit hours for GSBS and GGHSON. Students enrolled in less than 6 semester credit hours will be assessed $66; $330 annual rate for PLFSOM.
  • Student Union Fee: $5 per semester for GSBS and GGHSON; $12.50 annual rate for PLFSOM.
  • Medical Services Fee: For long terms $70.00 per semester if enrolled in four or more credit hours for GSBS and GGHSON. $35.00 for all enrolled students in the short summer terms. $175 annual rate for PLFSOM.
  • Identification Card Maintenance Fee: $6.00 per semester or term for GSBS and GGHSON; $15.00 annual rate for PLFSOM.
  • Identification Card Replacement Fee: $10 per occurrence for all schools.
  • International Education Fee: $4 per semester for GSBS and GGHSON; $10 annual rate for PLFSOM.

Other Fees

  • Record Processing Fee: $15 per semester for GSBS and GGHSON; $37.50 annual rate for PLFSOM.
  • Application Fee: $50 for PLFSOM; $40 for GGHSON; $45 for GSBS; plus $25 for late applications, all schools.
  • Graduation Fee: $45 for undergraduate programs; $45 for graduate programs; $45 doctoral programs.
  • Placement Guarantee Fee: $50 for GSBS and GGHSON; $100 for PLFSOM.
  • Malpractice Insurance: $17 each fall semester for GGHSON; $25 annual rate for PLFSOM; $61 for Nurse Practitioner Students.
  • Long Term Disability Insurance: $46.80 annual rate for PLFSOM.
  • ETD Processing Fee for Binding Theses and Dissertations: Master Level $50; Doctoral Level $50.
  • International Student Fee: $50 each semester charged to each nonimmigrant international student for GSBS and GGHSON, $25 each summer session; $100 annual rate for PLFSOM.
  • Orientation Fee: $50 all schools.
  • Option Fee for Installment Payment of Tuition/Fees: $25 all schools.
  • Late Charges on Loans: $25 all schools.
  • Late Payment Fee: $50 per occurrence, all schools.
  • Late Registration Fee: $50 all schools.
  • Post Census Day Matriculation Fee (Reinstatement Fee): $200 all schools.
  • Returned Check Charge: $30 per occurrence.
  • Vehicle Registration Fee: A fee is required for all vehicles parked on campus. A schedule of these fees may be obtained from Parking Services at Traffic and Parking.

Exemptions and Waivers

All exemptions or waivers have been authorized by statute in the Texas Education Code or through action of the Board of Regents of the Texas Tech University System. Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso reserves the right, without notice in this or any other publication, to change, amend, add to or otherwise alter any or all exemptions and waivers set forth herein subject to actions by the Texas State Legislature, the Board of Regents of the Texas Tech University System, or other authority as the case may be.

Exemptions and Waivers must be submitted no later than the 12th class day of a fall or spring semester or the 4th class day of a summer term. It is the student's responsibility to check their student account to ensure the application of a waiver. No waivers will be accepted after the 20th class day (15th class day in summer terms) regardless of circumstances.

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso reserves the right to apply exemptions and waivers after the census day (12th class day of a fall or spring semester or the 4th class day of a summer term). In addition, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso reserves the right to audit any exemption or waiver prior to application to a student's tuition and fee account.

Beginning the fall 2014, students must make satisfactory academic progress according to TTUHSC and TTUHSC El Paso policy to continue receiving certain exemptions or waivers granted in a previous term. In addition, undergraduate students must not have completed a number of semester credit hours that is considered excessive according to TTUHSC and TTUHSC El Paso policy.

  • Biomedical Research Program Scholarship Student: Exempts nonresident tuition. Documentation is required through the Office of International Affairs.
  • Blind Students: Exempts a student from payment of all tuition and fees excluding charges for room and board. Certification by the Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services or the Division for Blind Services is required.
  • Border County Waiver: Exempts a student from paying nonresident tuition if the student is a resident of a county or parish of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico or Oklahoma that is adjacent to Texas to enroll in public institutions in Texas while paying a reduced tuition rate, based on the rate charged Texas students at similar institutions in their state. The college or university must have a reciprocal agreement with a similar institution in the student’s home state, to allow Texas residents attending the other state’s institution to pay a reduced tuition rate. Requires registrar verification.
  • Children of Disabled Firefighters and Law Enforcement Officers: Exempts a student from payment of tuition and required fees. Certification by Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board is required.
  • Children of Disabled Peace Officers: Exempts a student from payment of tuition and required fees. Certification by Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board is required.
  • Children of Prisoners of War or Persons Missing in Action: Exempts a student from payment of Texas resident tuition and required fees. Certification by Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board is required.
  • Children of Professional Nurse Faculty and Staff: Exempts eligible students from the payment of tuition for up to 10 semesters while pursuing a baccalaureate degree at the same institution at which the qualifying parent is currently employed or under contract as a professional nurse faculty or staff member. See the Children of Professional Nurse Faculty and Staff Form.
  • Competitive Scholarship: Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition over and above resident tuition. Student must be awarded a competitive scholarship of at least $1,000 for the academic year or summer of their enrollment and be either a nonresident or citizen of a country other than the United States. Student must compete with other students including Texas residents and the award must be made through a duly recognized scholarship committee. Certification is sent to the Office of Student Business Services from the Financial Aid Office.
  • Deaf Students: Exempts a student from payment of all tuition and fees excluding charges for room and board. Certification by the Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services or the Office for Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services is required.
  • Economic Development and Diversification Employees, Spouses, and Dependents: Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition. The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board provides a listing of eligible companies. Students must provide employment certification accordingly.
  • Faculty Exemption (Teacher or Professor): Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition. Certification by employing department is required. See the Faculty Tuition Waiver Form.
  • Faculty Dependent (Nonresident Dependent of Teacher or Professor): Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition. Certification by employing department is required. See the Dependent Waiver Form.
  • Foster Care: Exempts a student from payment of tuition and fees. Must be a Texas resident. Certification from The Texas Department of Family and Protective Services is required.
  • Good Neighbor (Students from other Nations of the Western Hemisphere): Exempts a limited number of students from payment of 100% of tuition. Certification through the Office of International Affairs is required.
  • Military Personnel and Dependents: Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition. Application must be made through Admissions and Records. Certification by Unit Commander or Unit Personnel Officer is required. A separate certification is required, in original form with original signature, for each semester or term of enrollment.
  • Nurse Clinical Preceptors and their Children: Exempts all eligible preceptors and their children from the payment of up to $500 of tuition per semester for up to 10 semesters while pursuing a baccalaureate degree. See the Clinical Preceptors Form.
  • Off-Campus Waiver: Waives the student from the payment of certain fees for activities, services, or facilities not available to them at their course location. Students enrolled in only web-based instruction may also be eligible for an off-campus waiver. Notification of waiver eligibility is provided from the various academic departments to the Office of Student Business Services for each semester/term. Waivers must be manually entered onto a student's account after registration is completed. Students may elect to pay any or all of the waived fees by contacting the Office of Student Business Services.
  • Prisoner of War: Exempts a student from payment of tuition and required fees. The U.S. Department of Defense must have classified student as a prisoner of war on or after January 1, 1999.
  • Senior Citizens (55 Years of Age and Older): Exempts a student from payment of up to 6 semester or term credit hours of resident or nonresident tuition. Student must be 55 years of age or older by the first class day. Notification should be given to the Office of Student Business Services at time of enrollment.
  • Senior Citizens (65 Years of Age and Older): Exempts a student from payment of up to 6 semester or term credit hours of resident tuition. Student must be 65 years of age or older by the first class day. Notification should be given to the Office of Student Business Services at time of enrollment.
  • TANF Students: Exempts a student from payment of tuition and fees for the first academic year of enrollment. Certification is required from the Department of Family and Protective Services.
  • Valedictorian (Highest Ranking High School Graduate): Exempts a Texas resident student from payment of 100% of tuition during both semesters of the first regular session immediately following his or her graduation from high school. Documentation must be provided to the El Paso HSC Student Business Services Office.
  • Veterans and Dependents (Hazelwood): Exempts a student from payment of tuition and fees except the Student Services Fee. Requires registrar’s certification.
  • Veterans and Dependents (Partial Hazelwood): Certification by the Registrar’s Office is required. The amount exempted will be that amount calculated after the application of federal aid, which the student must utilize first.

Graduate Student Fee Assistance Program

Teaching Assistant, Research Assistant or Graduate Part-Time Instructor
Exempts, by Board of Regents action, the student from payment of certain fees. By Board of Regents mandate, appointment must be on or before the 12th class day of the fall or spring semester (4th class day of a summer term) as a benefits-eligible employee with employment of at least one-half time as a TA, RA or GPTI. See the TA/RA Fee Waiver Form.

  • Graduate Student Tuition Exemption: Nonresident State Tuition Exemption — Teaching Assistant or Research Assistant. Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition over and above the state resident rate. By Texas Education Code and Texas Tech Board of Regents mandate, appointment must be on or before the 12th class day of the fall or spring semester (4th class day of a summer term) in a position that meets the definition of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso Pay Plan in work related to the student's degree program. See the TA/RA Tuition Waiver Form.
  • Employee Tuition Assistance Program: Waives, by Board of Regents action, the employee from the payment of tuition and fees for up to 3 semester credit hours for the fall, spring, and summer terms. Please be aware that all fees that are assessed are not considered mandatory fees and may not be covered under this employee benefit. These include, but are not limited to, Malpractice Insurance Fees, Graduation Fees, and Binding/Thesis Fees. Eligibility requirements include the following:
    • Must maintain a 2.25 minimum cumulative GPA
    • Must be a full-time benefits-eligible employee of TTUHSC El Paso, TTU, or the TTU System
    • Must be in compliance with TTUHSC El Paso and/or TTU Operating Policies regarding employee enrollment
    • Must be seeking a degree certification verifiable by admissions status 

Waivers will be applied for those employees attending Texas Tech University. Notification should be given to the Office of Student Business Services at the time of enrollment in TTUHSC El Paso courses to receive credit on account.

A TTUHSC El Paso employee attending a four-year institution or community college in their area will need to complete a certification form and submit it to the Office of Human Resources at their respective campus to obtain tuition reimbursement.

  • Benefits-Eligible Medical Services Waiver: Waives the student from payment of the Medical Services Fee. By Board of Regents mandate, appointment must be on or before the 12th class day of the fall or spring semester (4th class day of a summer term) in a position eligible for state benefits as defined in the Texas Civil Statutes and the Teacher Retirement System of Texas. See the Medical Services Waiver Form.
  • Teaching Assistant or Research Assistant Dependent: Exempts a student from payment of nonresident tuition over and above state resident rate. Certification from the employing department is required. See the Dependent Waiver Form.

To see the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board’s description for all exemptions and waivers, click on the links below.