TTUHSC Welcome to the HSC
HomePaul L. Foster School of Medicinedefault.aspxdefault

Founding Dean Staff

Chair for the Department of Emergency Medicine

Brian Nelson, M.D.

Professor and Chair for the Department of Emergency Medicine

Phone: 915.215.6135

Department of Emergency Medicine Website

Dr Nelson received his M.D. from Baylor College of Medicine in 1975. He completed training in Emergency Medicine at the Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions in 1979. He received a M.S. in Clinical Research Design and Statistical Analysis from the University of Michigan School of Public Health in 1995.

He served first as Director of the Division of Emergency Medicine (1985-1990) and then as Founding Chair , Department of Emergency Medicine (1990-1996) Texas Tech University School of Medicine. Since that time he has served as research director and program director in the same department. In 2008, Dr Nelson was appointed as Professor and Chair of Emergency Medicine in the new Paul L. Foster School of Medicine, the second medical school in the Texas Tech system.

Dr. Nelson has more than 50 academic publications and has served in various academic societies, including President of the Texas College of Emergency Physicians and Councilor for the American College of Emergency Physicians.

Return to Founding Dean Staff go


The Paul L. Foster School of Medicine is one of six schools that make up the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC).Texas Tech University System. The President of TTUHSC reports to the Chancellor, who is the Chief Executive Officer of the System. The Chancellor and the President are responsible to the Texas Tech University Board of Regents, which sets overall policy for the Texas Tech University System, Texas Tech University, and TTUHSC.