TTUHSC Welcome to the HSC
Paul L. Foster School of MedicineOffice of the DeanPLFSOM Leadership

Paul L. Foster School of Medicine Leadership

Chair for the Department of Internal Medicine

Debabrata Mukherjee, M.D., MS., FACC,

Professor and Chair for the Department of Internal Medicine
Phone: 915-215-5205

Department of Internal Medicine Website

Debabrata Mukherjee, M.D., is the Chairman of the Department of Internal Medicine and Chief of Cardiovascular Medicine at the Texas Tech University. Prior to this he had held the position of the Gill Foundation Professor of Interventional Cardiology, Professor of Internal Medicine, and the Director of the Cardiac Catheterization Laboratory at the University of the Kentucky and the Director of the Peripheral Interventional Program at the University of Michigan. Dr. Mukherjee received his Internal Medicine training at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation. Subsequently he completed a fellowship in Cardiovascular Medicine and Interventional Cardiology also at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation. Dr Mukherjee also completed a Masters in Clinical Research (MS) at the University of Michigan and a Certificate in Business Administration at the University Of Kentucky Gatton College Of Business.

Dr. Mukherjee has received the American College of Cardiology (ACC) Career Development Grant, the Joseph Cash Memorial Award for excellence in Health outcome research and the Cardiovascular Center McKay Research Grant for Peripheral Arterial Disease. He is a member in the Marquis Directory of Who's Who and has been named as one of the Best Doctors in America for several years. He has been an invited lecturer at several major national and international meetings, has authored over 500 publications, edited fourteen textbooks on cardiovascular diseases and written more than 100 textbook chapters. He presently serves on several journal editorial boards, is the Editor-in-Chief of the Cardiovascular and Hematological Agents in Medicinal Chemistry, The Open Cardiovascular Imaging Journal, and Cardiology Reviews and is a member of the American College of Cardiology Interventional Council. In addition to being a long-standing fellow of the American College of Cardiology, he is a fellow of the Society for Vascular Medicine & Biology, Society for Cardiac Angiography and Interventions, and the International College of Angiology. Dr Mukherjee has coauthored several national guidelines including the 2012 ACCF/AATS/SCAI/STS Expert Consensus Document on Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement, the 2011 ACCF/AHA/SCAI Guideline for Percutaneous Coronary Intervention, the ACCF/AHA 2011 expert consensus document on hypertension in the elderly, the ACCF/ SCCT/ ACR/ AHA/ ASE/ ASNC/ NASCI/ SCAI/ SCMR 2010 Appropriate Use Criteria for Cardiac Computed Tomography and the ACCF/ACR/AHA/NASCI/SCMR 2010 expert consensus document on cardiovascular magnetic resonance.

Return to Dean's Staff go

columnTexas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso, the Texas Tech University System’s fourth university, with a mission to provide education, research, and patient care to West Texas and beyond. It is comprised of the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine, the Gayle Greve Hunt School of Nursing and is a regional campus for a Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. The university has a clinical practice called Texas Tech Physicians that is part of the largest network of healthcare physicians in West Texas. Research focuses on cancer, diabetes & obesity, infectious diseases, and neurology.