TTUHSC Welcome to the HSC
HomePaul L. Foster School of Medicinedefault.aspxdefault

Founding Dean Staff

Professor and Chair of Surgery

Alan H. Tyroch, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Professor and Chair of Surgery

Phone: 915.545.6857

Department of Surgery Website

Trauma Medical Director

Alan H. Tyroch, M.D., F.A.C.S., Professor in the Department of Surgery at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center at El Paso, Texas. Dr. Tyroch is Board Certified in General Surgery and Surgical Critical Care.

Dr. Tyroch is a graduate of the University of Texas Health Sciences Center in Houston, TX, where he received his M.D. Degree. He is a graduate of the Phoenix Integrated Surgical Residency Program in Phoenix, AZ. After graduation, he completed a fellowship in Trauma and Surgical Critical Care at the University of California in Fresno, CA in 1997.

Dr. Tyroch participates in the following professional memberships: American College of Surgeons (Fellow), American College of Surgeons-South Texas Chapter, American Association for the Surgery of Trauma, Society of Critical Care Medicine, Texas Surgical Society, Southwestern Surgical Congress, American Trauma Society, Pan-American Trauma Society and Western Surgical Association. He also serves on these committees: Governor's EMS & Trauma Advisory Council-Trauma Systems Committee (2002-present), and American College of Surgeons South Texas Committee on Trauma (2000-present). He is the past Chief of Staff at Thomason Hospital.

Return to Founding Dean Staff go


The Paul L. Foster School of Medicine is one of six schools that make up the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC).Texas Tech University System. The President of TTUHSC reports to the Chancellor, who is the Chief Executive Officer of the System. The Chancellor and the President are responsible to the Texas Tech University Board of Regents, which sets overall policy for the Texas Tech University System, Texas Tech University, and TTUHSC.