IBC Bylaws –Revised, April 4, 2016

Article I - Name

The name of this Committee shall be the “Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso Institutional Biosafety Committee (TTUHSCEP IBC)”.


Article II – Charge

The charge of this Committee shall be to:

  1. Develop institutional policy for the safe use, handling, and storage of hazardous chemical and biological materials, including recombinant DNA;
  2. Advise the Institution/Investigators on regulations and policies involving biologically and chemically hazardous materials;
  3. Develop recognized standard procedures for research with biologically and chemically hazardous materials;
  4. Advise the Laboratory Animal Resource Center (LARC) on safe practices for work involving the use of biologically and chemically hazardous materials;
  5. Certify to granting agencies, as requested, that facilities, procedures, and practices for handling biologically and chemically hazardous material have been reviewed and approved by the Committee,  and  certify  that  the  training    and  expertise  of  personnel  is  sufficient  and appropriate;
  6. Review reports from the laboratory safety division (TTUHSCEP Safety Services) of safety hazards in the laboratories at TTUHSCEP;
  7. Supervise the institutional educational programs on the use of biologically and chemically hazardous materials;
  8. Review the Laboratory Compliance Manual every three years;
  9. Review any protocols submitted to the IBC;
  10. Make recommendations to the Vice President for Research (VPR) concerning the biohazards program.
  11. Enforce punitive measures, including lab closure, when necessary to safeguard employees, the public, and the environment.


Article III – Members

Section 1. The membership of this Committee shall consist of:

  1. A minimum of five TTUHSCEP faculty member Attempts will be made to include representation from each TTUHSCEP School and campus whose faculty conduct basic laboratory research. Efforts will also be made to include faculty with expertise in research with animals, genetic research, and research with microorganisms. A single Committee member may serve multiple roles.

  2. The Biosafety Officer (BSO);

    Section 2. The VPR or designee shall appoint the members of the Committee. Confirmation letters will be sent to each member. As deemed necessary throughout the year,  the Committee may vote to nominate new members for appointment by the VPR.

    Section 3. Each member’s annual term shall coincide with the institution’s fiscal year. If notice of resignation by the member or non-reappointment by the VPR is not given by  August 1 of each year, each member’s appointment shall be automatically renewed on a year-to-year basis.

    Section 4. Members with more than three (3) unexcused absences per year may be asked to resign  from the Committee.


Article IV – Officers

Section 1.  The officers of the Committee shall be a Chairperson and co-Chairperson. These officers shall  perform the duties prescribed by these bylaws and by the parliamentary authority adopted by the  Committee.

Section 2. The VPR shall appoint the Chairperson and co-Chairperson of the Committee. Unless notice is given to the Officers by the VPR or to the VPR by the Officers, these appointments shall be automatically renewed on a year-to-year basis.


Article V – Meetings

Section 1. The Committee will meet every month in which there is business to conduct. At a minimum, the Committee shall meet once every fiscal quarter.

Section 2. The regular meetings of the Committee shall be held on the second Tuesday of each month, unless another arrangement is made by the Chairperson.

Section 3. Quorum for this committee to conduct business is defined as fifty percent of members, plus one.

Section 4. An expedited meeting may be called by the Chairperson to review a new application, renewal of an established protocol, or an amendment if a grant transfer or grant award is pending, and approval must be  granted prior to the next scheduled IBC meeting. All members are invited, and a minimum of four members is required to approve the protocol under review. Action is approved by majority vote. Business conducted at an expedited meeting is reported to the full committee at the next scheduled meeting.

Section 5. Special meetings may be called by the Chairperson and may also be requested by any member  of the Committee.  The purpose of the meeting must be stated in the call. Except in cases of emergency, at least three days notice shall be given. For purposes of taking action, a quorum of members is required. Business conducted at the special meetings will have separate meeting minutes.

Section 6. Meeting minutes will be retained for three years following the meeting. Any printed or electronic documents related to a protocol will be retained for three years following termination of the protocol.


Article VI– Relationship  to other TTUHSC Compliance Committees

The TTUHSCEP Institutional Biosafety Committee functions independently of, but in coordination with other TTUHSCEP Research and Safety compliance Committees, including, but not necessarily limited to the following:

  • Radiation Safety Committee (RSC)
  • Institutional Review Boards (IRBs)
  • Conflict of Interest in Research Committee (COIRC)
  • Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC)

The IBC may request that review or approval of any of these committees be obtained prior to approval of an IBC protocol.

Subcommittees of the IBC may be appointed by the IBC Chairperson as deemed necessary to perform

the work of the Committee.  The Chairperson shall be an ex officio member of any such sub-committees.


Article VII – Review and Approval of Bylaws

These bylaws shall be reviewed at least annually by the Chairperson of the Committee, the IBC Administrator, the BSO and the Senior Director of the Office of Research Resources. Proposed changes to the bylaws will be  presented to the full Committee for review and comment. The IBC Chairperson has authority to provide final approval of the Bylaws.


Article VIII – Amendment of Bylaws

These bylaws may be modified or amended as needed at the request of the VPR or designee in consultation with the IBC Chairperson.


Article IX – Confidentiality of Records

The TTUHSCEP Institutional Biosafety Committee is a “medical committee” as defined under Texas Health & Safety Code chapter 161, and/or other applicable state and federal statutes. All documents generated by, submitted to, or for the purposes of fulfilling IBC committee duties are considered confidential and privileged as “medical committee documents.”