Academic Council

Charge

The Academic Council for Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso serves in an advisory capacity to the provost regarding academic policies, procedures, and priorities. The Academic Council considers requests from our schools and leadership needed for degree and certificate programs; recommended course additions, changes and deletions; institutional academic catalog content and revisions; academic calendar concerns; and academic policies, publications and matters with institutional impact. For more information regarding the Academic Council, please refer to HSCEP OP 10.06.

Membership

Chairperson

The Academic Council is chaired by the Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Richard D. Brower, M.D.
Richard D. Brower, M.D., FAAN

Vice President for Academic Affairs

richard.brower@ttuhsc.edu

915-215-4329

Voting Members

Voting members include one dean, associate dean for academic affairs, or equivalent from each school; one faculty-at-large representative from each school; and one SGA representative.

Stephanie Woods
Stephanie L. Woods, Ph.D., R.N.

Dean, GGHSON

stephanie.woods@ttuhsc.edu

Lizette Villanueva portrait picture
Lizette Villanueva, Ph.D., R.N.

GGHSON Faculty Representative

lizette.villanueva@ttuhsc.edu

Place Holder
Rajkumar Lakshmanaswamy, Ph.D.

Dean, GSBS

rajkumar.lakshmanaswamy@ttuhsc.edu

Place Holder
Huanyu Dou, M.D.

GSBS Faculty Representative

huanyu.dou@ttuhsc.edu

Linda S. Ellis, M.D., M.J., M.A., FABP
Linda S. Ellis, M.D., M.J., M.A., FABP

Associate Dean, PLFSOM Office of Student Affairs

linda.s.ellis@ttuhsc.edu

Dr. Thwe Htay
Thwe Htay, M.D.

PLFSOM Faculty Representative

thwe.htay@ttuhsc.edu

Richard Black portrait picture
Richard C. Black, D.D.S., M.S.

Dean, WLHSDM

richard.black@ttuhsc.edu

Wendy Woodall portrait picture
Wendy Woodall, D.D.S., MAGD

WLHSDM Faculty Representative

wendy.woodall@ttuhsc.edu

Alexa Guerrero
Alexa Guerrero 

SGA Representative

alexa.guerrero@ttuhsc.edu

Ex-officio Members

Non-voting members include representatives from institutional academic support and compliance offices.

Irene Alexandraki, M.D.
Irene Alexandraki, M.D.

Associate Academic Dean, PLFSOM Office of Medical Education

irene.alexandraki@ttuhsc.edu

Armando Meza
Armando Meza, M.D.

Associate Academic Dean, PLFSOM Office of Graduate Medical Education

armando.meza@ttuhsc.edu

Christiane Herber-Valdez, EdD
Christiane Herber-Valdez, Ed.D.

Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs

christiane.herber-valdez@ttuhsc.edu

Robin Dankovich, Ed.D.
Robin Dankovich, Ed.D.

Assistant Vice President, Student Services & Student Engagement

 

Michele Carolynn Williams, Ed.D.
Michele Carolynn Williams, Ed.D.

Associate Managing Director for Academic Programs

michele.williams@ttuhsc.edu

Diana Andrade
Diana Andrade, M.Ed.

Registrar

diana.andrade@ttuhsc.edu

Ron Williams
Ron Williams

Director, Financial Aid

ron.williams@ttuhsc.edu

Cynthia Flores
Cynthia Flores

Sr. Director, Student Business Services

cynthia.flores@ttuhsc.edu

Oliana Alikaj-Fierro, Ph.D., M.B.A.
Oliana Alikaj-Fierro, Ph.D., M.B.A.

Managing Director, OIRE

oliana.alikaj-fierro@ttuhsc.edu

Lisa A. Beinhoff
Lisa A. Beinhoff, M.L.S., Ph.D.

Managing Director, Libraries

lisa.beinhoff@ttuhsc.edu

Richard McCallum, M.D.
Richard McCallum, M.D.

Faculty Senate

richard.mccallum@ttuhsc.edu