Accrediting Organizations

TTUHSC El Paso and its programs are accredited by multiple accrediting agencies, including the following U.S. Department of Education recognized accrediting organizations for institutional and programmatic accreditation. Institutional agencies accredit entire institutions; programmatic agencies accredit programs within institutions.

Organization Description Accredited Date Last Review Date
Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) Officially recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education as a national accreditation agency, the CCNE is an autonomous accrediting agency, ensuring the quality and integrity of baccalaureate, graduate, and residency programs in nursing. 2013 2018
Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) The LCME is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the World Federation for Medical Education (WFME) as the reliable authority for the accreditation of medical education programs leading to the MD degree. Medical education programs leading to the MD degree in the United States and Canada are accredited by the LCME. 2008 2020
The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) SACSCOC is the U.S. Department of Education recognized regional body for the accreditation of degree-granting higher education institutions in eleven Southern states. The Commission also accredits international institutions of higher education. SACSCOC strives to enhance educational quality by ensuring that institutions meet standards established by the higher education community to address the needs of society and students. 2018 2018
Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) CODA is nationally recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as the sole agency to accredit dental and dental-related education programs conducted at the post-secondary level. CODA accredits dental schools and programs including advanced dental education programs and allied dental education programs in the United States. 2020 2020


TTUHSC El Paso Accreditors Not Recognized by U.S. Department of Education include:

Organization Description Accredited Date Last Review Date
Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care (AAALAC) AAALAC International is a private, nonprofit organization that promotes the humane treatment of animals in science through voluntary accreditation and assessment programs. 2015
under TTUHSC
under TTUHSC
AAGL (formerly known as the American Association of Gynecologic Laparoscopists) The AAGL is the leading association promoting minimally invasive gynecologic surgery among surgeons worldwide. 2013 2015
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) ACGME is an independent, not-for-profit, physician-led organization that sets and monitors the professional educational standards essential in preparing physicians to deliver safe, high-quality medical care to all Americans. 2011 2021
Society for Simulation in Healthcare (SSH) SSH serves a global community of practice enhancing the quality of healthcare. SSH seeks to improve performance and reduce errors in patient care through the use of simulation. 2012 2017
The Joint Commission An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission accredits and certifies nearly 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. Joint Commission accreditation and certification is recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to meeting certain performance standards. 2015 2021