Paul L. Foster School of Medicine

When its doors opened in 1973, the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine (PLFSOM) was a regional medical campus for Lubbock where third- and fourth-year medical students had the option to complete their degrees. Today, the PLFSOM is the first four-year medical school along the U.S.-Mexico border and features an immersive clinical curriculum.
The PLFSOM, so named after the chairman of Western Refining, Paul L. Foster, who endowed TTUHSC El Paso with $50 million, was established by the Texas State Legislature in May 2007. The Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) conferred preliminary accreditation status in February 2008 and the first class was seated in July 2009. In February 2013, the LCME granted full accreditation to the medical degree program. In November 2013, the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB) granted approval to add the Doctor of Medicine (M.D.) degree to TTUHSC El Paso’s program inventory.
The PLFSOM is a leader in educational innovation. Starting in years one and two, the school’s curriculum is highly focused on clinical studies. This structure provides the clinical context and motivation for learning, as well as a natural framework for highly coordinated and synergistic instruction in medical skills, the various domains of public health, introductory diagnostic reasoning, and ethics and professionalism. In addition, as part of its curriculum, the PLFSOM requires all students to learn medical Spanish language skills; the PLFSOM is the only medical school in the U.S. with this requirement.  


Dear Applicant:

We hope the information in each section will facilitate your acquaintance with our school. Students at the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine obtain a medical education that is consistent.

Learn more

News and Information

Tech View PLFSOM Blog