Texas Child Mental Health Care Consortium (TCMHCC)

The TCMHCC was funded by the Legislature through the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (the THECB) to implement five different mental health initiatives. Under their leadership, the Consortium supports the Child Psychiatry Access Network (CPAN), the Texas Child Health Access Through Telemedicine (TCHATT) program, workforce expansion programs (CAP and CPWE), and research. For more information on these initiatives, visit the TCMHCC website.


The Child Psychiatry Access Network (CPAN) provides primary care providers and pediatricians with telephonic consultation and educational support on children and adolescent mental health concerns. The CPAN team offers referrals to mental health care providers and CME opportunities.
The Texas Children Access Through Telemedicine (TCHATT) program delivers telemedicine services for public school students experiencing a mental health crisis. The TCHATT team supports public school personnel in identifying students that would benefit from telemedicine services and aid those students through comprehensive assessment and by providing them with brief treatment and referral through telehealth.

Community Psychiatry Workforce Expansion (CPWE)

The CPWE provides full-time psychiatrists to serve as academic medical directors at facilities operated by community mental health providers and new psychiatric resident rotation positions at the facilities.

Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Fellowships (CAP Fellowships)

CAP Fellowships provide additional child and adolescent psychiatry fellowship positions at the health-related institutions.

The TCMHCC is leading the development of a plan to promote and coordinate mental health research across state university systems in accordance with the statewide behavioral health strategic plan developed by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission.

Medical Director
Sarah L. Martin, MD, sarah.l.martin@ttuhsc.edu

TCHATT Director
Eden Hernandez Robles, PhD, MSW, eden.robles@ttuhsc.edu

Program Manager
Adrienne Harrel, (915)215-6133

Program Coordinator
Lori Arredondo, loretta.h.arredondo@ttuhsc.edu, (915)215-4021

Paulina Rodriguez: paulina.rodriguez@ttuhsc.edu

Senior Mental Health Clinicians
Carlos Castaneda, carcasta@ttuhsc.edu

Hanna Garza, hanna.garza@ttuhsc.edu

Joyce Gonzalez, joycgonz@ttuhsc.edu

Melissa Carrasco, melissa.carrasco-herrera@ttuhsc.edu

Bethany Shrewsbury: bethany.shrewsbury@ttuhsc.edu

Senior Office Assistant
Eloisa Pleters-Escobar: epleters@ttuhsc.edu

Patient Services Specialist
Crystal Carrillo: cryscarr@ttuhsc.edu

Analyst II
Nadia Rocha: nadia.rocha@ttuhsc.edu

Sr. HSC Research Scientist
Angelica Forero: angelica.forero@ttuhsc.edu