About Us

The first institutional faculty development course (IFDC) was developed and implemented by Hoi Ho, M.D., associate dean for Faculty Affairs and Faculty Development, in March 2003. The purpose of this comprehensive program is to provide faculty development for the entire institution upon which each department or academic unit can build a program that is specific to its particular needs. The IFDC is designed to help junior and midlevel faculty members enhance their teaching and research skills, develop their professional careers, and achieve academic accomplishments. All new junior and midlevel faculty members are encouraged to attend the course within the first year of their appointment.

Since the inception of our faculty development program, the Office of Faculty Development has obtained institutional funding to provide IFDCs at no cost to the faculty members. Department chairs demonstrate their support by providing faculty the release/administrative time necessary to participate in IFDC learning activities.

The Office of Faculty Development and the Offices of Continuing Medical Education (CME) and Nursing Education (CNE) coordinate the training sessions for enhancing the faculty teaching and assessment skills. Several award-winning educators, education specialists of TTUHSC El Paso and speakers from regional academic institutions give presentations at the IFDP and/or CME/CNE grand rounds.


The office of Faculty Development directly reports to Dr. Ogden, from the Provost Office for academic affairs. The faculty development office is led by Dr. Sanja Kupesic and Dr. Zuber Mulla, associate Academic Dean, Dr. Mulla directly to Dr. Kupesic. Staff is comprised of Mr. Marco Rodriguez, Lead Analyst, Ms. Connie Rosales, Unit assistant Director, both of which report directly to Dr. Kupesic. Ms. Nadia Morales, Analyst two, and Mr. Eduardo Vazquez, Lead Analyst, report to Dr. Mulla.