Committee Bylaws

As per the PLFSOM Faculty Bylaws (Article IX, Section C.2) the faculty committee with primary responsibility for the curriculum is the Committee on Curriculum and Educational Policy, commonly referred to as the Curriculum and Educational Policy Committee (CEPC).

Faculty Bylaws Article IX, Section C.2

a. Membership: The membership of this committee will be broadly
representative of the faculty responsible for and participating in the Doctor of
Medicine degree program. Membership will include two (2) College Masters, to
include one (1) basic scientist and one (1) clinician, who are each appointed for a
four (4)-year term. In addition to the above, membership will include four (4)
members from the basic sciences faculty and four (4) members from the clinical
sciences faculty appointed for four (4) year terms on a rotating basis.
Candidates for these ‘at-large’ positions are to be recommended by the
Associate Dean for Medical Education and appointed by the Dean for staggered
four (4)-year terms. Terms may be renewed by recommendation of the Associate
Dean for Medical Education and appointment of the Dean; however, ‘at-large’
members may be appointed for no more than two (2) consecutive terms, after
which they are ineligible to serve for four (4) years. Candidates for these
positions should demonstrate an ongoing interest in medical education. Exofficio,
non-voting members will include: the Associate Director of the Library, the
Director of Information Technology or designee, the Director of Assessment and
Evaluation, the Assistant Deans for Medical Education, the Associate Dean for
Student Affairs, the Dean or Dean’s designee, and two (2) student 
representatives from each of the four (4) classes. The student representatives
will be designated by and from the Student Curriculum and Evaluation
Committee, the members of which are elected or re-affirmed annually by each

b. Leadership: This committee will report to the Faculty Council. The Curriculum
Committee is chaired by the Associate Dean for Medical Education. 

c. Charge: The Committee on Curriculum and Educational Policy is charged with
planning, coordinating, reviewing, and evaluating the curriculum to ensure that it
adheres to the written educational policies, goals, and objectives of the Paul L.
Foster School of Medicine. Further, the Committee shall have full authority to
make changes in educational policy or in the organization of the curriculum with
the concurrence of the Dean and with comment and input from the Faculty
Council. The Faculty of the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine has the
responsibility to define course objectives, create and deliver content to meet
those objectives, and modify their activities in response to appropriate feedback
from peers and students. The Committee will provide updates on its activities at
least twice a year to the Faculty Council. In order to accomplish the mission of
the Committee, the Chair may appoint subcommittees that may include members
who are not members of the Committee. It shall be the responsibility of the
Committee to coordinate the activities and reports of these subcommittees. In
addition, the Committee receives reports from the Committee on Evaluation of
Educational Programs.